Friday, March 30, 2007

LSU basketball star, the late All-American Pete Maravich, will be featured as part of CBS Sports' NCAA Final Four programming this Saturday as "GEICO Presents College Basketball's 10 Greatest Shooters.

The show will air on Final Four Saturday at 1 p.m. CDT.

The biggest and best names in college basketball will appear in this one-hour special produced by Chicago-based Intersport. Hosted by CBS Sports college basketball analyst Seth Davis, the program will include a full tribute to each of the honorees, including original game footage and interviews with players, coaches and teammates.

The show will also highlight the best big men shooters and the best clutch performances of all time.

The 10 greatest shooters were determined by players, coaches, fans and college basketball historians and by using the criteria of field goal percentage, overall shooting statistics and performance in the "clutch." A partial list of nominees includes:

Steve Alford, Indiana (1984-87); Ray Allen, UConn (1994-96), Lew Alcindor, UCLA (1965-69), Larry Bird, Indiana State (1977-79), Bill Bradley, Princeton (1962-65), Austin Carr, Notre Dame (1969-71), Michael Finley, Wisconsin (1992-95), Michael Jordan, UNC (1982-84), Allen Iverson, Georgetown (1994-96), Christian Laettner, Duke (1989-92), Jerry Lucas, Ohio State (1958-62), Pete Maravich, LSU (1968-70), Reggie Miller, UCLA (1984-87), Chris Mullin, St. John's (1982-85), Calvin Murphy, Niagara (1967-70), J. J. Redick, Duke (2003-06), Glen Rice, Michigan (1986-89), Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati (1958-60), Steve Smith, Michigan State (1987-91) and, Jerry West, West Virginia (1958-60).

No comments: