Monday, May 28, 2007

Ole Miss Awarded Regional

Ole Miss has been named one of the 16 NCAA baseball regional sites from June 1-4, as just announced on ESPNEWS. The entire NCAA bracket will be officially released Monday morning at 11:30 a.m. CT on ESPN.

The Rebels (37-23) will be making their fifth straight postseason appearance and are hosting a regional for the fourth consecutive season.

Tickets for the tournament are available on a standing room only basis as all reserved seating has been sold out. Fans can purchase general admission ticket books for standing room only for $50 for the entire Regional. Each book gains admission to every game of the Oxford Regional.

General admission tickets for standing room only will also be available on a game-by-game basis for $13 for adults and $7 for college students with ID as well as high school age children and younger.

Tickets and pre-paid parking passes will be available for pick up beginning at noon on Wednesday at the Tad Smith Coliseum ticket office through 11 a.m. on Friday, June 1.

After noon on Friday, tickets and parking passes must be picked up at the football ticket office located next to the Starnes Center on All-American Drive.

Any tickets that go unclaimed after Friday’s games must be picked up at the Oxford-University Stadium/Swayze Field ticket office, and will be available two hours prior to game time on Saturday.

Tickets can be purchased over the phone by calling the Ole Miss Ticket Office at 662-915-7167 or 1-888-732-8857 for in-state calls. The ticket office will be closed on Monday for the Memorial Day holiday.

The 15 other regional sites, with host institutions and records through Saturday, May 26, are as follows: Arizona St. (43-13), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (41-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Coastal Carolina (48-11), Conway, S.C.; Florida St. (47-11), Tallahassee, Fla.; Long Beach St. (36-18), Long Beach, Calif.; Missouri (40-16), Columbia, Mo.; North Carolina (47-12), Chapel Hill, N.C.; Rice (48-12), Houston; San Diego (42-16), San Diego; South Carolina (42-18), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (44-15), Austin, Texas; Texas A&M (43-16), College Station, Texas; Vanderbilt (50-11), Nashville; Virginia (43-14), Charlottesville, Va.; Wichita St. (49-19), Wichita, Kan.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, Ole Miss is one of eight host institutions that has been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field, along with Florida St., Long Beach St., Missouri, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia and Wichita St.

Arkansas, North Carolina, Rice, San Diego, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt, would clinch automatic berths by winning their conference tournament championship, which are scheduled for Sunday afternoon. A loss in those tournament championship games makes them an at-large selection. Arizona St. and Coastal Carolina have already clinched automatic berths by virtue of winning the Pacific-10 and Big South Conference, respectively.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 1, to Monday, June 4.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced Monday during a live, 30-minute program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 4 at approximately 10 p.m. CT.

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 61st Men's College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

No comments: